The 2010 Sun Valley Town Series Comes to a Close!

The Sun Valley Race Department put on another great season of racing for this year’s Town Series. Seven weeks of racing finished up yesterday, with a festive and green finale on Lower Cozy and a St. Patty’s Day after-party that any Irishman would be proud of. Teams came out in costumes, like SVSEF’s green maiden dresses, Team Lip Service’s one-piece ski suits and Mardi Gras boas, the Flat Out Ridiculous Team’s neon green wigs, the Blog Chicks’ matching socks, shorts, and shamrock headbands, and Wood River Masonry even lit rockets on the back of their skis.

Robin Sarchett was the overall winner yet again, beating second and third placed Carlo Rixon and Nate Schwing by seven tenths of a second. The top female was speedy Erika Hogan, who finished seventh overall, beating the second placed woman, Sarah Mazzola, by half a second. The rabbits this week were Chris Key (in one of his best finishes of the season) and Chris Campbell. The fifth placed male and female, and winners of a fifth of tequila, were Wes Powell and Toby Arnett.

The season’s top team, Scott USA, celebrated in style, breaking out the champagne on Apple’s sunny deck. Congrats to John Reagle, Toby Arnett, John Zuck, and Jeff Page. The four teams who rounded out the top five, and had their names in the drawing for three season-passes from Sun Valley Resort, were Casino Dancing Bears, Wood River Masonry, the Drunken Blumkens, and the Rainbow Warriors.The celebrating continued throughout the beautiful St. Patrick’s Day afternoon on Apple’s Bar and Grill’s packed patio with delicious corned beef and hash and tons of green beer.

Congrats to all the racers on another great season of World Cup Wednesdays! A big thanks goes out to Mike Wrobel and the rest of the Sun Valley Race Department. Another thanks goes out to the Valley bars and restaurants who sponsored the 2010 Town Series parties!

See some of the action below and check back later for the full results.

Lizzy Brown, Team Lip Service, sets up for a run.

Mollie Parker and Abby Seibert show how cool science really is!

Janet Appleton rocks the one-piece and the boa.

The Blog Chicks get ready to race.

Ash Higgins, Tine Cordeau, Pete Stevenson and other racers show their Irish spirit at the race start.

A dapper Billy Cook suits up for the after-party.

The crowd peers over the balcony at Apple's to check out all the Award's Ceremony action.